Navigation
Navigation
Share

FAQ

From VeganWiki

Jump to: navigation, search

What is a Vegan?

A Vegan is a person who does not eat or use animal products.

Is everything on this site Vegan?

Yes every product listed on site this should be Vegan. The Ingredients of products listed on this site should all be a 100% vegan and does not contain any animal products.

There maybe other ethical reasons why you chose not to eat them or boycott a manufacturer etc and you may want to add this information to the pages educate others so they can make their own informed choice. But as long the product contains no animal products they will be listed.

Allergen labelling has caused confusion over whether some products can be classed as vegan. By law if a factory also handles allergens such as crustaceans, fish, milk, eggs and molluscs they should label their product May Contain as there maybe a risk of cross-contamination. Some manufacturers could not claim their product contains zero animal cross-contamination. To make such a claim would require the manufacturer to test every batch of every ingredient for animal contamination. But these products don't have deliberately added animal ingredients and can be considered vegan.

How do I add something to the list?

Type the name of the product in search box and if product is not listed on this site you will be able to add it by creating a new page.

What do I do if see something that isn't Vegan on the List?

If you see something that you know is not vegan then please edit the page and explain why.

It may a manufacturer has recently had an "New Improved Recipe" and have changed the ingredients. Annoying isn't it? Let people know of the changes. If the ingredients have changed there will be a transitional period where by some shop will still selling the product with old ingredients and some will be selling the new version. Also discount stores may still maybe selling the vegan alot later on. Admins will only fully remove the product listing when the vegan version is no longer available any where.

Someone could of have make a mistake (oops!) and listed something that isn't vegan. Please edit the page and explain why it isn't vegan. You also can discuss this using the talk pages.

If you have any emails or letters from manufacturers that comfirm anything listed on this site contains animal products then please foward them to ingredients@VeganWiki.co.uk and the admins will review and remove the listing if necessary.

What is a Wiki?

A Wiki is a web site developed collaboratively by a community of users, allowing any user to add and edit content.

How do I edit a page?

It's very easy to edit the contents of a wiki. Once you have created an account and Logged in it only takes a few clicks.

  1. Click the "Edit" pages tab at the top of the page.
  2. Make changes to the text.
  3. Click the "Save page" button.

Simple as that!

See the Editing Page Guide in the Help Section